University of Saint Joseph: A Bold Beginning
In 1932, the Sisters of Mercy of Connecticut set out to establish the first college for women in the Hartford area. They were determined to develop a curriculum that balanced professional studies with a range of the arts and sciences focused on service to others and infused the Catholic intellectual tradition while welcoming students of all ages, races, religions, and cultures.
In addition to undergraduate programs for full- and part-time students (which became fully coeducational in 2018), the University of Saint Joseph has grown to include the following programs of study: graduate master’s and certificate programs (introduced in 1959) and professional doctoral degrees (2011).
Two renowned laboratory schools — the School for Young Children (1936), a nationally-accredited preschool; and the Gengras Center School (1965), a special education program for elementary, middle, and high school students — also serve to train University of Saint Joseph students.
As the University of Saint Joseph has evolved into a vibrant educational complex, it has never strayed from its original vision: a steadfast commitment to preparing students for insightful leadership and service to others.