University of Saint Joseph Celebrates Doctor of Pharmacy Hooding and Awards Ceremony

Graduates Doctor of Pharmacy Class of 2022 

On Friday, May 13, 2022, the University of Saint Joseph held its Hooding, Oath, and Awards Ceremony for those graduating from its doctoral program in Pharmacy (Pharm. D.). Connecticut Pharmacists Association CEO Nathan Tinker, Ph.D. was the featured speaker, following the welcome remarks by USJ Provost Michelle Kalis, Ph.D., R. Ph. 

The entry of new Pharm. D. graduates addresses a demonstrated need in the community. USJ’s School of Pharmacy and Physician Assistant Studies offers a unique three-calendar-year, coeducational, doctoral degree (Pharm. D.) program in Pharmacy. Students can enroll upon completion of a bachelor’s degree subject to required courses.  

Learn more about USJ’s School of Pharmacy & Physician Assistant Studies here. 

USJ’s Doctor of Pharmacy Class of 2022 and awards: 

Dominic Alfano, Farmington, CT  
The Rho Chi Society Epsilon Alpha Chapter Professionalism & Leadership Award and the Adom Excellence Award. Awarded to a graduating student member of the Rho Chi Society Epsilon Alpha Chapter who has demonstrated high standards of conduct and character, and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy as described in the Rho Chi Society mission and superiority in all Professional Year 1 courses and demonstrates professional qualities of competency and compassion.  

Francesca Amici, Branford, CT   
Academic Excellence in Pharmaceutical Sciences Award, and the Adom Excellence Award. Highest score throughout the required curriculum offered by DPS and superiority in all professional year 2 courses and demonstrates professional qualities of competency and compassion. 

Annaliza Ashitey, Bronx, New York   
Merck Academic Excellence Award for demonstrated scholastic achievement in the study of pharmacy. 

Maria DiBella, West Hartford, CT American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists-Senior Recognition Certificate, and the Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award. Contributed greatly to the APhA-ASP Chapter and demonstrated exceptional service and commitment to the chapter and student in the top 25% of class and demonstrated high personal motivation and a unique ability to communicate drug information. 

Nejat Eshetu, Niantic, CT  
Academic Excellence in Pharmaceutical Calculations. Highest average score on all graded exams in the Pharmaceutical Calculations Course and displayed exemplary professional attitude. 

Sana Khan, Planstville, CT   
National Community Pharmacists Association Student Chapter Award. Demonstrated leadership and dedication while making outstanding contributions to the success of the NCPA chapter. 

Josette Mejias-Soto, Arecibo, PR   
Excellence in Experiential Education Award. Demonstrated excellence in Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience rotations and The Connecticut Society of Health System Pharmacy Excellence Award.

Amanda Merturi, Hamden, CT  
Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy Professionalism & Leadership Award and the USJ School of Pharmacy Student Government Award. Contributed to the USJ School of Pharmacy and Physician Assistant Studies AMCP through service or leadership and displayed professional behavior through service to USJ SOPPAS AMCP chapter, USJ SOPPAS and the community and demonstrated loyalty, commitment, academic achievement, and service to the SOP and exhibited leadership and maturity while maintaining a positive attitude. 

Morgan Ouellette, Bristol, CT   
Wolters Kluwer Award for Excellence in Clinical Communication. Is in the top 25% of class and has demonstrated excellence in clinical communication with superior verbal/non-verbal skills. 

Jillian Searle, Unionville, CT   
Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administration Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice. Demonstrated extraordinary clinical skills on rotations and in practice, excellence in academics, and service to the community. 

Amaal Sugulleh, East Hartford, CT   
The Kappa Psi Outstanding Service Award. This award is given to a graduating University of Saint Joseph School of Pharmacy student who is a member of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity and has demonstrated outstanding service to both the School of Pharmacy and commitment to the profession through involvement in Kappa Psi. 

Jenessa Teta, Wolcott, CT   
Student Society of Health-System Pharmacy Exceptional Service Award and the PLS Chapter Member of the Year Award. Awarded to a student who demonstrated professionalism, leadership, and exemplary service to the Student Society of Health-System Pharmacy chapter and to recognize an outstanding PLS member based on their contributions to pharmacy leadership within their chapter and awarded to a USJ student who has demonstrated leadership, provided significant contribution to the Connecticut Society of Health-System Pharmacy, and is interested in a career in health system pharmacy. 

Myranda Williams, Seymour, CT  
CPA Student Leadership Award. Awarded to a USJ student who was actively involved in The Connecticut Pharmacists Association (CPA) while attending pharmacy school, is in a good academic standing and has demonstrated leadership within CPA and the pharmacy program of SOPPAS. 

Full List of Students:

  • Jenine Abumusallam, South Setauket, NY  
  • Damilola Akingbade, Grand Prairie, TX  
  • Yasmeen Alam, Manchester, CT  
  • Lindsay Allison, Naugatuck, CT  
  • Brandyn Balzano, Branford, CT  
  • Christelle Bibo Ekodi, New Britain, CT  
  • Yustyna Bobak, Hartford, CT  
  • Bernard Bonsu, Elkridge, MD  
  • Dana Bramble, East Hartford, CT  
  • Raymond Chen, Woodbridge, CT  
  • Joshi Cherian, Farmington, CT  
  • Connor Combs, Bristol, CT  
  • Melissa DeBella, Manchester, CT  
  • John-Paul DeVeglia, North Haven, CT  
  • Hana Effendi, Plainville, CT  
  • Chimaobim Ejiaga, West haven, CT  
  • Taylor Everett, Higganum, CT  
  • Kayleigh Giannini, Thomaston, CT  
  • Sodana Gracien, Boston, MA  
  • Naushin Haque, Deer Park, NY  
  • Minas Ioannou, Bethpage, NY  
  • Emily Kalinski, New Britain, CT  
  • Arooba Khan, Southington, CT  
  • Jasmin Khangura, Rocky Hill, CT  
  • Jatin Kukreja, Hamden, CT  
  • Damian Litwa, Seymour, CT  
  • Harun Malik, Watertown, CT  
  • Mohammad Mansour, Mystic, CT  
  • Kelly Menor, San Bernardino, CA  
  • Kristen Mojica, Islip Terrace, NY  
  • Leah Morgan, Jamaica, NY  
  • Philippe Recalt, Wallingford, CT  
  • Joseph Salib, Bayonne, NJ  
  • Roberto Sanchez-Casteleiro, New Britain , CT  
  • Neelab Sarwari, Ansonia, CT  
  • Gulamfareed Shaikh, East Hartford, CT  
  • Ebenezer Tsoedi, Hillside, NJ  
  • Jenny Wahl, Port Jefferson Station, NY
  • Dorithy Yeboah, Hamden, CT