Advisory Board Program

USJ’s Advisory Board Program is composed of working professionals and hiring managers who guide and mentor students. They also help develop curriculums that lead to our experiential learning opportunities.

Examples include advisory boards in the following areas:

Actuarial Science Advisory Board

Kate HallCFO, Healthcare ActuaryUnited Healthcare
Maria ItteilagSenior Manager, Consulting LLPDeloitte
Thomas LonerganDirector and Actuary The Hartford, Cigna
Margaret McDonaldSenior VP & Head of PRT Product ActuarialPrudential
Erin Nadeau*Director, Decision Science AnalyticsUSAA
Caitlyn PrescottExecutive Director, ActuarialAetna
Linda PriebeInternational Pricing HeadUnited Healthcare
Danielle SinderAVP Business Insurance Analytics and ResearchTravelers Insurance
Nicholas SpencerActuarial ConsultantThe Hartford
Richard SychPresidentHooker & Holcombe, Inc.
Tom WeidmanOwner, WFSPrivate Investor
Susan WinklerExecutive Director, Business & Economic DevelopmentConnecticut IFS
*indicates USJ alum

Computer Science Advisory Board

Scott BurghoffVPCGI
Ron DegrayUSJ Emeritus ProfessorUniversity of Saint Joseph
Michael Kunkel, Ph.D.Director of TechnologiesTravelers Insurance
Steven J LacroixVice President, Consulting ServicesCGI
Dmitri RedcencoAVP for API Development and IntegrationMetLife
Kimberly Shaw*Technical Audit ManagerThe Hartford
James Sheusi, M.S.Principal Software Engineer, Mobile ApplicationsKlafflin, Inc.
Patrick SullivanCFOHanover Insurance
Chimna UcheMath and Computer Science TeacherCREC
Matthew Wallace, J.D.PresidentVRSim
*indicates USJ alum

Digital Media and Communication Advisory Board

Ana AlfaroHost of El Show de Analeh
Community Relations Specialist
Kristie BorgesSenior AssociateCJ Public Relations
Mark ContrerasPresident and CEOCPTV
Jeff DooleyDirector of Media and BroadcastingHartford Yard Goats
LeAnne GendreauWeb EditorNBC Connecticut
Bernard KavalerManaging PrincipalExpress Strategies
Rob KingSVP Original ContentESPN
Maria LinoPrincipalThe Latino Way Marketing and Media
Jennifer MerrickField ProducerVarious Projects
Dr. Charlie RiemannAnalytics Manager – ElectionsMSNBC
Christine SchilkeMarketing and Development DirectorConnecticut Main Street Center
Andy ThibaultAdjunct Instructor
Columnist/Contributing Editor
University of New Haven
Carrie TitoloDirector of Marketing and CommunicationBoys & Girls Clubs of Hartford
Emily WalshPR and Marketing ConsultantECW Communications
Dennis HouseChief Political AnchorWTNH-TV, News 8

Education Advisory Board

NameTitleDistrict/ Institution
Dr. Joseph MacarySuperintendentVernon Public Schools
Dr. James Thompson Jr.SuperintendentBloomfield Public Schools
Carly Paine*Director of CurriculumMansfield Public Schools
Kristin Heckt*  SuperintendentBolton Public Schools
Thomas AndersonSuperintendentEast Hartford Public Schools
Dr. Terell HillSuperintendentWindsor Public Schools
Dr. Colin McNamaraSuperintendentRegional School District 8 (RHAM)
Michelle LestrudDirectorGengras Center
Dr. Jordan GrossmanSuperintendentCanton Public Schools
Desi NesmithAssistant Superintendent for Accountability and PerformanceBloomfield Public Schools
Lisa Lamenzo*Director of School ImprovementBloomfield Public Schools
Sue O’DonnellDirector of School for Young ChildrenSchool for Young Children
Joseph LeroyPrincipal of Mayberry Elementary SchoolEast Hartford Public Schools
Kimberly MunzInstructional Coach of Mayberry Elementary SchoolEast Hartford Public Schools
Jay MihalkoPrincipal of Poquonock Elementary SchoolWindsor Public Schools
Elizabeth SkedEducation Issues SpecialistCEA
Tiffany CaouetteAsst. Exec Dir of Exec Coaching ProgramCT Association of Schools
Matt FolanSuperintendentDCF
Sonya StemmerSupervisor of Professional DevelopmentEast Hartford Public Schools
Andy Gonzalez  SuperintendentLebanon Public Schools
Matthew WestTEAM District Facilitator and Equity Squad Co-FacilitatorWest Hartford Public Schools
Dr. Bethany SilverActing SuperintendentBloomfield Public Schools
*indicates USJ alum